Tags

, , , , ,

What is it about wild dangerous animals that make us want to cuddle them and scratch their bellies? Me and my roommate went to the Kirshner Wildlife foundation on saturday and fell in love with some beautiful animals. I didn’t even know about this place and it’s only 15 miles from my front door, about a mile from where I go to school everyday! If I had known about it I would have probably gone broke, so now that I have some time I am thinking of volunteering. The Kirshner Wildlife foundation is a non profit that takes care of and shelters wild animals that are either hurt or cannot be released back into the wild. Click on this link to find out more about them because they are a wonderful organization.

One thing that I really loved about this place is that it’s not like a zoo. There are no stores or fancy buildings, it’s not commercialized in any way. It’s just you, the animals, big open land and friendly staff. It is sad that these animals cannot be out in the wild to roam free but this place allows them to still be as there is no where else for them to go.

This beauty is a liger. She’s still young and very playful.


At one point I turned around and noticed a couple of wild animals that had escaped their cage!

I am going back on tuesday to see about volunteering, which means possibly one more thing in my life to look forward to after coming back from Guinea.

