Tags

, , , , , ,

One thing that I love about West Africa  are the children. You go for a walk and there are a dozen hands to hold, smiling faces talking to you and trying to teach you words in their language. In Guinea, everyday during dance class, smiling giggling children would be watching us over the wall. One girl inparticular would always get my attention and summon me over to reach up and give her a high five. She would always be waving to me and giving me a thumbs up to let me know I was doing a good job. One day she motioned for me to come over and actually threw me money. I was shocked, I tried to give it back to her but she wouldn’t let me. Then the first time that I saw her outside on the street, she ran up to me and gave me the biggest hug. I don’t know why she took such a liking to me but it was such a blessing. One of those sweet gifts in life that are priceless.

